An ever-increasing malice. A mind-numbing terror. The seeds of horror are sown in this collection of Junji Ito’s earliest works.

In stock

SKU: OCT211948 Categories: , , , Tags: ,


(W/A/CA) Junji Ito

A vengeful family hides an army deserter for eight years after the end of World War II, cocooning him in a false reality where the war never ended. A pair of girls look alike, but they’re not twins. And a boy’s nightmare threatens to spill out into the real world…

This hauntingly strange story collection showcases a dozen of Junji Ito’s earliest works from when he burst onto the horror scene, sowing fresh seeds of terror.

Hardcover / 240pgs / B&W / 17 & up (Mature/Horror themes)

Junji Ito made his professional manga debut in 1987 and since then has gone on to be recognized as one of the greatest contemporary artists working in the horror genre. His titles include Tomie and Uzumaki, which have been adapted into live-action films; Gyo, which was adapted into an animated film; his short story collections Fragments of Horror, Frankenstein, Lovesickness, Shiver, Smashed and Venus in the Blind Spot; and Remina, all of which are available from VIZ Media.

Ito’s influences include classic horror manga artists Kazuo Umezz and Hideshi Hino, as well as authors Yasutaka Tsutsui and H.P. Lovecraft.

His collection Frankenstein won the 2019 Eisner Award in the “Best Adaptation from Another Medium” category and his long-form manga No Longer Human has received critical acclaim for his spectacular adaptation of Osamu Dazai’s 1948 novel.

You may also like…